Why did that man receive CPR? – part 3

I rang the family of the 96 year old man, Mr Simpson. I knew I was crossing a boundary, but I had gone as far as I could on the other side of the line – in the hospital, in the GP surgery. I needed to know how much of an offense that futile 6 minute exercise in attempted resuscitation was. Mr Simpson had a younger wife, aged 85, and several children, only one of whom was in the area. He, Dennis, was 65. I held my breath and called. A male voice answered – Dennis.

“Hello.”

“Hello. My name is Dr _____, I am one of the doctors who helped to look after Mr Simpson…”

“Yes.”

“I wondered if I could meet with you, and his wife. There is something about his care in the hospital that I want to discuss with you, as long as it’s not too distressing…”

“Well, we weren’t surprised that he died. He seemed very peaceful when we saw him. My mother is very sanguine about it, upset of course, but I can’t see why she wouldn’t be happy to talk…”

We made an arrangement.

A week later I sat in their lounge; Mrs Simpson, Dennis, and me.

 

Dennis: “How can we help Dr _____?”

Me: “I’ll get to the point. I don’t know if you know what happens when patients die in hospital.”

Dennis: “They go the mortuary don’t they. They are covered up and taken out of the ward…”

Me: “But before that. Have you heard about resuscitation?”

Dennis: “Yes. We’ve seen it on TV. When they try to restart the heart. Very dramatic.”

Me: “It is. Sometimes it works, and the patient comes back to life, but often it does not, especially if the patient is very frail. We tend to assume all patients should have resuscitation if their hearts stop. In fact, unless someone has specifically said it shouldn’t happen, if they die the crash team will be called as an emergency and they will start to perform resuscitation on the patient.”

Dennis: “All patients?”

Me: “Unless a ‘Not for resuscitation’ decision is made, yes.”

Mrs Simpson: “Did they do that to Arthur?”

Me: “Yes, they did. That’s why I’m here. I wasn’t very happy about it when I discovered it.”

Pause. Dennis and Mrs Simpson look at each other.

Me: “How do you feel about that, now you know?”

Mrs Simpson: “It feels very – wasteful. To think  of all those doctors running in, the machines, all the shouting and panic, and Arthur lying there. Did it hurt him?”

Me: “I don’t think so Mrs Simpson. He would have been unconscious. And when they realised that his heart was not going to restart again they stopped.”

Dennis: “After how long?”

Me: “Five or six minutes.”

Dennis: “That long?”

Mrs Simpson: “Was it wrong? Is that what you’re saying Dr ____? Is that what you are here to tell us?”

Me: “I don’t know. I want to ask you. You see, the intention of the system we have is good – to save as many patients as possible – but we can be slow at identifying patients like your husband who really shouldn’t be subjected to resuscitation. It seems wrong, it seems like a mistake, when someone like that is put through such a treatment, but because the patient has died we never know how wrong it is. Is it wrong at all, if the patient passes away and feels nothing?”

Dennis: “Of course it is. To think of him being pushed around like that. It’s not what he would have wanted at all.”

Me: “Do you know that Dennis? Did he ever say that?”

Dennis: “Not specifically. Whoever talks about resuscitation specifically? But he was plain that he didn’t want to spend lots of time in hospital. He told me he wanted to die at home – ‘like in the books’ – he said, he loved the classics. His idea was a clean sheet, a doctor popping in during the morning and leaving instructions with the family, and one of us reading something to him as he became more and more drowsy…”

Me: “That’s… a really strong image. Wow.”

Mrs Simpson: “He didn’t discuss that with me Dennis.”

Dennis: “Perhaps it’s a male thing Mum… he wasn’t one to talk about himself that much…”

Me (uncomfortable) : “Did he, or you, ever consider leaving instructions? Written instructions?”

Dennis: “No. But we should have, I see that now.”

Me: “The difficulty is, now that you know what happened to him, to work out how wrong it was to try to keep him alive. Mrs Simpson, what do you think?”

Mrs Simpson: “Until you told us, we didn’t know. We assumed he had stopped breathing and that he had just passed away on the ward. I was not surprised, even though he was not that unwell when he went in. At his age it could have happened at any time. It could happen to me at any time! His death I can accept. And now you come and – forgive me – you come and complicate it. I don’t know what to think. I trust the hospital to have given him the right and the best treatment. If you tell me it didn’t, then I am upset. I don’t know enough about it to have a strong opinion – was it right or wrong. If that is what you do in the hospital, as long as he did not suffer I am not angry. Dennis?”

Dennis: “I’m upset. His death, as I now imagine it, is the opposite of what he would have wanted. The exact, diametric opposite. So that makes me angry.”

Me: “Would you rather I hadn’t told you though?”

Dennis: “In one way, yes. We were getting along fine after his death. This has sullied our memories… but if it happened it happened, and it’s better for us to know. The only good that can come of it though is if you go back to the hospital and make sure it doesn’t happen again, to another nearly hundred year old.”

Me: “That is a real problem for us. You see, if a patient looks OK, not to unwell, and if they don’t bring the subject up, doctors don’t always raise the subject. If it is not discussed openly with the patient, or with the family, they are not allowed to make a patient ‘Not For Resuscitation’.

Mrs Simpson: “Absurd. It was obvious he wouldn’t want such a thing.”

Dennis: “But you’ve had complaints I guess. Legal cases. I’ve read about them. But surely if your doctors bring a 96 year old into hospital, they should have to raise the subject. Not to do it is just avoiding the issue. They can’t just pretend it might not happen.”

Me: “I agree with you. But it gets lost, I’m afraid. And we can’t have a rule that says over a certain age you should not have resuscitation. It has to be on a case-by-case, individual basis.”

Mrs Simpson: “Then go back, please Dr _____, and tell them, all your colleagues and students, to think about it. And to talk about it. Please.”

Me: “I will. Thank you.”

 

Part 1

Part 2

oOo

 

three covers

Leave a Reply

